Welcome to the Callis lab at UC DAVIS

Home
Research Interests
Publications
Lab Members
Useful Links
People and Places
Callis Courses
Contact Us
 
Lab Members
 
 
Image of Judy Callis
 
office: 103A Briggs Hall
(530-752-1015)
lab: 103 Briggs Hall (530-752-1014)
departmental fax: (530-752-3085)
jcallis@ucdavis.edu
University of California, Davis
Department of Molecular and Cellular Biology
One Shields Avenue
Davis, CA 95616
 
Judy Callis
 
   



     

(more photos)

 
Current Lab Members
Name Title E-mail address Research Interests
Katrina Linden Graduate Student kjlinden@ucdavis.edu RING project
Yi-Tze Chen Ph.D. Candidate yitchen@ucdavis.edu
RING project
Damian Guerra Ph.D. Candidate ddguerra@ucdavis.edu RING project
Khin Kyaw Junior Specialist kwkyaw@ucdavis.edu RING project
Jacynda Oun Undergraduate jsoun@ucdavis.edu Plant propagation and care
John Riggs Ph.D. Candidate jwriggs@ucdavis.edu PFKb project
     
 
Past Lab Members
 
Name Current Position Current E-mail address Callis Lab Position Callis Lab Research Interests
Jane Auyeung    
Undergraduate student
Auxin signaling project
Eric Beers

Associate Professor
Virginia Polytechnic Institute

ebeers@vt.edu Post-doctoral scholar
(1990-1993)
Regulation of protein degradation
Kayla Benton Junior specialist kmbenton@ucdavis.edu Undergraduate (2012) RING project
Magnolia Bostick Post-doctoral scholar
University of California,
Los Angeles
mbostick@ucla.edu

Graduate student
(1999-2005)

RUB project
Regulation of proteolysis and ethylene signaling
Jessica Brown   jgbrown@ucdavis.edu Post-graduate researcher
(2000-2005)
Auxin signaling
Regulation of protein degradation
Meliza Castro MD Student, Ross University mfcastro@ucdavis.edu Junior Specialist (2009-2012) RUB project, Auxin project
Cliff Chan     Undergraduate student
(2004-2005)
Auxin signaling project
Jennifer Chandler   jschandler@bellsouth.net Ph.D. student
(Graduated 1998)
Regulation of protein degradation
Kartika Charan     Undergraduate student
(2003-2005)
Auxin signaling project
Analysis of AUX/IAA function
Mai Dao    
Undergraduate student
RUB project
Plant propagation and care
Kate Dreher

TAIR: Scientific curator of metabolism and proteomics

Standford, CA

kadreher@stanford.edu

Ph.D. student (Graduated 2007)

Auxin signaling project
Regulation of AUX/IAA degradation
Jessica Foret Junior specialist in Brady Lab, UCD   jnforet@ucdavis.edu Undergraduate (2012) RING project
Erin Fuller     Undergraduate student
(2005-2006)
RING project
Tania Gonzalez Graduate student tlgonzalez@ucdavis.edu Undergraduate researcher Auxin project
Jonathan Gilkerson Postdoctoral scholar, Salk Institute, San Diego, CA jgilkerson@ucdavis.edu Ph.D. student (Graduated 2011) Auxin signaling,
Regulation of AUX/IAA degradation, Role of FLNs in Plant Biology
Dominik Green Ph.D. student   Undergraduate student
(2003-2004)
RING proteins
Joel Hinton Undergraduate, BYU Idaho, Rexburg, ID hjoele@gmail.com Spring Intern (2012) RING project
Adria Honda     Undergraduate student
(1999-2003)
Auxin signaling; Regulation of protein degradation
Herborg Hauksdottir Molecular Biology Laboratory
Institute for Experimental Pathology
University of Iceland
Reykjavik, Iceland
herborg@hi.is Post-doctoral scholar
(2002-2003)
Protein degradation; RING proteins
Jill Herschleb Ph.D. student
University of Wisconsin, Madison
  Post-graduate researcher
(2002-2003)
RING project
Sara Hotton Postdoctoral scholar, UC Berkeley (Mary Wildermuth) skhotton@ucdavis.edu Ph.D. student (Graduated 2011) RUB project
Regulation of proteolysis and ethylene signaling
Mandy Hsia Postdoctoral scholar, USDA, Albany, CA mmhsia@ucdavis.edu

PhD student

(Graduated 2010)

RING project

BRIZ proteins

Alex Jones Ph.D. student
University of California-Berkeley
  Undergraduate student
(2002-2004)
Auxin signaling; Regulation of protein degradation
Jemma Jowett   jjowett@ucdavis.edu

Post-doctoral scholar (2005-2006)

Auxin signaling project
Vincent Kam

Project Scientist

Novozymes, Davis, CA

vkam@ucdavis.edu Undergraduate researcher (2009-2010) RING project
Michael Kerber Ph.D. student
University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
  Post-graduate researcher
(2004-2005)
RING project
Edward Kraft Monsanto; Davis, CA   Ph.D. student (Graduated 2007) RING project
Jose Laplaza Research Scientist
US Department of Forestry, Madison, WI
jmlaplaza@crazygenetics.com Ph.D. student
(Graduated 2001)
Regulation of protein degradation
Joey Lasiter   jmlasiter@ucdavis.edu Undergraduate Auxin project
Colin Leasure Postdoc
San Francisco State University
cdleasure@hotmail.com Post-graduate researcher
(1999-2000)
Auxin signaling; Regulation of protein degradation
Damei Li   emdli@ucdavis.edu Undergraduate Auxin project
Richard Ling   rling@arb.ca.gov Ph.D. student
(Graduated 1998)
Protein degradation
Stephanie Lochhead   sredwards@ucdavis.edu

Post-graduate researcher
(2002-2006)

RUB project
Barbara McArdle Novozymes, Davis, CA   Post-graduate researcher
(1995-1998)
Auxin signaling; Regulation of protein degradation
Jennifer Ngan UCSF Pharm.D. Student   Undergraduate researcher (2007-2009) RING project
Susan Norris Research Scientist
Monsanto
St. Louis, MO
susan.r.norris@monsanto.com Undergraduate student and Post-graduate researcher
(1991-1992)
Regulation of protein degradation
Osman Numair MD student, Ross University omnumair@ucdavis.edu

Undergraduate and Post-graduate technician (2008-2010)

RING project
Laurens Pauwels Postdoctoral Scholar, Ghent, Belgium

laurenspauwels@gmail.com

lapau@psb.vib-ugent.be

Journeyman Postdoc

(Feb-May 2010)

JAZ proteins, RING project, emphasis on KEEP ON GOING and bacterial protein expression
Jason Ramos Pharmacyclics, Inc.
Sunnyvale, CA
jramos@pcyc.com Ph.D student
(Graduated 2002)

Auxin signaling; Regulation of protein degradation
Chetana Rao-Naik Sr. Scientist
Medarex Inc.
South San Francisco, CA
CRao-Naik@medarex.com Post-doctoral scholar
(1996-1999)
Regulation of protein degradation
Robert Saw   resaw@ucdavis.edu Undergraduate student
(2005)

Auxin signaling;
Regulation of protein degradation

Sophia Stone Assistant Professor
Department of Biology
Dalhousie University
Sophia.Stone@dal.ca Post-doctoral scholar (2003-2006) RING project
Chih-Wen Sun Assistant Professor
Department of Life Science
National Taiwan Normal University
Taipei, Taiwan
cwsun@cc.ntnu.edu.tw Ph.D. student
(Graduated 1995)
Characterization of polyubiquitin genes
Ray Tam

Masters student

University of California, Irvine

 

Undergraduate researcher

(2005-2008)

Auxin signaling project
Regulation of AUX/IAA degradation
Christina Tan    

Undergraduate student
(2005-2006)

RING project
Karen Tam     Undergraduate student RING project
Linh Tran     Undergraduate student RING Project
Plant care and propagation
Andy Troy Ph.D. student
University of Colorado at Boulder
  Post-graduate researcher
(2003-2004)
Protein degradation; RING proteins
Adaku Ude     Undergraduate student Plant care and propogation
Van Vuong Pharmacy student, UCSD   Undergrad researcher RUB project
Luis Williams

Post-graduate researcher
University of Central America
Managua, Nicaragua

luiswilliams@ns.uca.edu.ni Post-graduate researcher
(2004)
Protein degradation; RING proteins
Mark West    
Post-doctoral scholar
Regulation of protein degradation
Mark Wogulis

Scientist II

Novozymes Davis, CA

  Post-doctoral scholar RING Project; E2 characterization; RUB project
Matt Wright   merwright@ucdavis.edu Undergraduate researcher RING project
Cathy Worley   WorleyGJ@aol.com Ph.D. student
(Graduated 1998)
Auxin signaling
Jim Zaccardo United States Embassay San Francisco, CA jzaccardo@ucdavis.edu Undergraduate Lab maintenance
Nathan Zenser Sigma
St.Louis, MO
zensern@hotmail.com Ph.D. student
(Graduated 2002)
Auxin signaling
 
Additional Excellent Undergraduate Helpers
 
Chris Chu
Minh Huynh
Kim Nguyen
Jonathan Li
Julia Busch
Macario Ramascal
Alfred Tobias
Charles Forsyth
Sinnott Murphy
     
 
Wonderful High School Students
 
Kate Saylor
Miles Ingwers
Suchitra Mukherjee

Judy Callis
University of California, Davis
Department of Molecular and Cellular Biology
One Shields Avenue
Davis, CA 95616
office: 103A Briggs Hall (530-752-1015)
lab: 103 Briggs Hall (530-752-1014)
departmental fax (530-752-3085)

jcallis@ucdavis.edu

Home
Research Interests
Publications
Lab Members
Useful Links
People and Places
Callis Courses
Contact Us