NAS Elected Professors

Plant Researchers and Molecular Biologist Elected to National Academy of Sciences

Three professors from the University of California, Davis, have been elected as members of the National Academy of Sciences. They are among 120 new members and 24 international members announced by the academy April 30

Members are elected in recognition of their contributions to original research. Membership in the academy is considered one of the highest honors a scientist can achieve.

The new members from UC Davis are: Savithramma P. Dinesh-Kumar, professor and chair in the Department of Plant Biology; Walter S. Leal, a Distinguished Professor in the Department of Molecular and Cellular Biology; and Richard Michelmore, Distinguished Professor in the Department of Plant Sciences, and founding director emeritus of the Genome Center.

Read the full story here.